Simple Past Tense

Simple Past Tense

Simple past tense is used for describing acts that have already been concluded and whose exact time of occurrence is known. Furthermore, simple past tense is used for retelling successive events.

 

formula :

+} S+Be+Was/Were+O/C
-} S+Be+Was/Were+not+O/C
?} Be+Was/Were+ S+O/C+?

Example :
+} We were at library yesterday
-} We were not at library yesterday
?} were we at library yesterday ?
For I, He, She, It = Was
They, we, you = were

Example :
(+) I saw a good film last night
(+) He came here last month
(-) I saw not a good film last night
(-) He came not last month
(?) Saw I a good film last night
(?) Came He here last month
* Verbal Sentence
Formula :
(+) S + V2 + O + Time signal.
(-) S + did + not + V2 + O + Time signal.
(?) did + S + V1 + O + Time signal?

Example :
(+) I ate cake yesterday
(-) I did not eat cake yesterday
(?) did I eat cake yesterday?

Time signal :
– Yesterday : kemarin
– Last…… :……yang lalu
– Last night : kemarin malam
– Last week : minggu yang lalu
– ………ago : yang lalu
– Three days ago : tiga hari yang lalu
– Two years ago : dua hari yang lau

Example:
My Mother gave me a gift last week.

* Nominal sentence

(+) S + was/were + complement.          was : I, he, she, it
(-) S + was/were + not + complement.   were : you, they, we
(?) was/were + S + complement?

Example :
(+) I was in Yogyakarta last week.
(-) I was not Yogyakarta last week.
(?) was I in Yogyakarta last week?

Tinggalkan Balasan

Blog Stats

  • 8,165 hits

Twitter Terbaru

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

